Ma Bohème by Arthur Rimbaud

Uncategorized

My Bohemia by Arthur Rimbaud
tr. Alexandre Rodallec

(fantasy)

I wandered off, my fists in my punctured pockets;
My coat was also becoming ideal;
I wandered neath the sky, Muse! and I was your faithful;
Oh! My! My! What spleandid loves I dreamt!

My only trousers had a big hole.
Dreamy Tom Thumb, I plucked off in my fare,
Rhymes. My inn was up in the Great Bear.
— My stars in the sky had a sweet rustle

And I listened to them, sitting by the edge of roads,
Those good e’ens of September where I felt drops
Of dew on my forehead, like a wine of vigor;

Where, rhyming midst the shadows so fantastic,
Like lyres, I plucked the strands of elastic
Of my wounded shoes, a foot close to my heart!

————————–

————————–————

Ma Bohème

(fantaisie)

Je m’en allais, les poings dans mes poches crevées;
Mon paletot soudain devenait idéal;
J’allais sous le ciel, Muse, et j’étais ton féal;
Oh! là là! que d’amours splendides j’ai rêvées!

Mon unique culotte avait un large trou.
Petit-Poucet rêveur, j’égrenais dans ma course
Des rimes. Mon auberge était à la Grande-Ourse.
Mes étoiles au ciel avaient un doux frou-frou

Et je les écoutais, assis au bord des routes,
Ces bons soirs de septembre où je sentais des gouttes
De rosée à mon front, comme un vin de vigueur;

Où, rimant au milieu des ombres fantastiques,
Comme des lyres, je tirais les élastiques
De mes souliers blessés, un pied près de mon coeur!

Leave a Reply

